Grand Rapids Rise Roster

Grand Rapids Rise Roster

Alyssa Garvelink-Jensen
Middle Blocker
Holland, Mich.
Michigan State
Two-time AVCA Second-Team All-American

Ashley Evans
Liberty Township, Ohio
Member of Team USA

Camila Gomez
Cali, Colombia
Texas A&M
Member of Team Colombia

Claire Chaussee
Outside Hitter
Sun Prairie, Wis.
2022 ACC Player of the Year

Emiliya Dimitrova
Shumen, Bulgaria
No College in U.S.A.
Member of Team Bulgaria

Erika Pritchard
Outside Hitter
Middletown, Md.
Penn State
Two-time First-Team All-Big Ten

Holly Toliver
Outside Hitter
Berrien Springs, Mich.
Michigan State
2017 AVCA All-American Honorable Mention

Kayla Caffey
Middle Blocker
Chicago, Ill.
2022 NCAA National Champion

Marin Grote
Middle Blocker
Burbank, Calif.
2021 AVCA Second-Team All-American

Sarah Sponcil
Phoenix, Ariz.
U.S. Olympian in Beach Volleyball

Shannon Scully
Outside Hitter
Huntington Beach, Calif.
2022 NCAA Beach Volleyball National Champion

Symone Abbott
Outside Hitter
Northville, Mich.
2017 AVCA All-American Honorable Mention

Nia Grant
Middle Blocker
Warren, Ohio
Penn State
Two-time NCAA National Champion

Rise Player Accomplishments

First Team All-American
Claire Chaussee (AVCA 2022 Louisville)
Sarah Sponcil (VolleyMob 2018 UCLA)
Nia Grant (AVCA 2014 Penn State)

Second Team All-American
Alyssa Garvelink-Jensen (AVCA 2017 & 2016 MSU)
Kayla Caffey (AVCA 2021 Nebraska)
Marin Grote (AVCA 2021 Washington)

All-American Honorable Mention
Ashley Evans (AVCA 2017 Purdue)
Erika Pritchard (Volleyball Magazine 2018 Maryland)
Holly Toliver (AVCA 2017 MSU)
Sarah Sponcil (AVCA 2018 UCLA; AVCA 2016 & 2015 LMU)
Shannon Scully (AVCA 2021 Pepperdine)
Symone Abbott (AVCA 2017 Northwestern)
Nia Grant (AVCA 2013 Penn State)

National Titles
Camila Gomez (2017 & 2016 Miami Dade College (NJCAA Div. 1))
Kayla Caffey (2022 Texas)
Sarah Sponcil (2019 & 2018 UCLA Beach)
Shannon Scully (2022 USC Beach)
Nia Grant (2014 & 2013 Penn State)

Sarah Sponcil (Team USA Beach Volleyball – 2021 Tokyo 9th w/Kelly Claes)

National Team Members
Ashley Evans (Team USA – indoor)
Camila Gomez (Team Colombia – indoor)
Emiliya Dimitrova (Team Bulgaria – indoor)
Sarah Sponcil (Team USA – beach)

Player of the Year
Claire Chaussee (2022 ACC Player of the Year; 2022 AVCA All-East Region Player of the Year)
Sarah Sponcil (VolleyMob 2018 Pair of the Year w/Lily Justine; 2017 WCC Player of the Year; 2016 WCC Defender of the Year)

First Team All-Conference
Alyssa Garvelink-Jensen (2017 & 2016 Big Ten)
Erika Pritchard (2020 & 2018 Big Ten)
Marin Grote (2022 & 2021 Pac-12)
Sarah Sponcil (2019 & 2018 Pac-12 Beach; 2017, 2016 & 2015 WCC)
Shannon Scully (2021 & 2019 WCC)
Symone Abbott (2017 Big Ten)
Nia Grant (2014 Big Ten)